Hey Colleges Read This!

Because grades don't show personality.

Lately I’ve been… September 29, 2013

Filed under: Editorial — heycollegesreadthis @ 10:28 am
Tags: , , ,

Lately I’ve been under the influence of Senior Year.

IMG_5235

Lately I’ve been trying to make sense of how high school has flown by. It feels like yesterday when I made one of my favorite teachers cry from a bittersweet note I wrote him halfway through freshman year. But now, roles are reversed and I’m the one on the verge of tears.

teacher recc1 blog

Lately I’ve been thankful for the Senior Bucket List my best friend and I composed prior to the start of school. It’s been keeping our friendship strong while doing things both of us have considered doing in high school, but now finally have a reason to.

seniors blog

Lately I’ve been considering colleges; listing out future possibilities and touring campuses. What I thought was my top choice college, might not be my first choice after touring a different campus the other week.

IMG_5303

Lately I’ve been working my butt off at my part time fast food job. Every shift gives me another reason to make me thankful for my coworkers whether it’s from their advice or spontaneous cupcake days.

IMG_5202

Lately I’ve been wondering where the hell I got the perseverance to run the majority of a 5K with a twisted ankle and skinned knee. Gym junkies don’t skip out on the finish line no matter the pain I guess.

IMG_5419

Lately I’ve been reflecting on what I’ve learned in high school and the person I’ve become. To be honest, it feels like the only thing I’ve learned was how to love myself and treat myself right; no matter what else is going on in my life. For the first time since childhood, I think I’m finally comfortable enough in my own skin to make decisions for the sole purpose of bettering myself.

IMG_5386

Lately I’ve been extremely busy to the point where my cat has to interject to remind myself to take a break… and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

with sofie1

 

One Response to “Lately I’ve been…”

  1. I’m a senior as well and facing so many similar obstacles. Every decision is stressful at this point but it’s important to keep looking at the positives. Good luck with the rest of your year!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

